Uncategorized

2017 ft. Political Debates

First of all, let me start off by saying this is NOT going to contain tons of my personal opinions on specific social and political matters. What this is going to be is my opinions on how people handle the goings on of this world right now with all these avenues of social media. It’s not about WHAT opinions are it’s about HOW and WHY they are shared. I am not writing this argumentatively in the least and simply hope that after reading this, you think twice about how you react to things.

I heard on the radio a while back that 2017 was the year everyone had an opinion and everything offended everyone. Never had I ever heard something so damn true. It’s ridiculous really. We have all lost a friend or two based off of an opinion they had or a post they shared or a reaction they had to a current event. As I write this I can think of more than a handful of people I have either unfollowed or blocked because of their blatant ignorance or how they CONSTANTLY argued. I don’t care what you’re talking about, but if all you ever do is complain and argue on social media…BYE! It’s so silly though that we literally lose friends over political views and opinions. But the more I think about it, the more I realize it’s not exactly what the opinion is that turns me off, it’s how they deliver that opinion or view to the world. I believe there is a right and a wrong way. I also believe that not all opinions need to be shared “just because you can.” And I’ll be the first one to admit I have probably done it the wrong way more than the right way…but here goes…

How many of you have been scrolling on Facebook, seen an article, read it and then agreed with it (or disagreed with it) and posted it to prove your point? All of you? That’s what I thought! But how many of you check where this information is coming from? How many of you look to see if this is even a reputable source? I can’t even count how many times I’ve seen “So and So celebrity said this about Vermont”….no they didn’t. There’s real fake news out there. Posting dramatic news articles that aren’t even true is a perfect way to a)c confuse people and b) start and argument. I urge you all that if you feel the need to share your opinion, at least use real facts and truths instead of those “alternative facts” Trump crap!!

Along the same lines of sharing random articles, ask yourself: why am I doing this? There’s this saying I like called “stirring the pot” and I see you out there. Yes you. I know you’re a pot stirrer, you know you’re a pot stirrer. Stop it. Stop posting articles or screenshots to bring about nothing but drama and anger and fighting!! What is the point?? What do you get out of inciting anger into people and causing beefs over the Internet? Are you really that bored that you need to be entertained by arguments? Or are you just so negative that you can’t help but bring people down with you? Don’t be someone who seeks out those memes or posts that you KNOW are going to get people going. How is that helping anyone? Like seriously…I want you to tell me how that is helping anyone. There is enough drama and negativity in the world without someone out there trying to get everyone riled up.

So to be clear, I’m not saying that sharing your opinion is a bad thing. I mean this whole this is my opinion on opinions (it’s truly a conundrum). I think it’s great that some people are super passionate about certain things…even if I don’t agree with those things. I, myself, chose to stay out of most political, religious and social topics. I don’t like to argue with people especially if they’re going to come back with a dumb argument that’s not backed by anything….and there are a lot of dumb arguments out there. I’ve shared my opinions on certain things before and have been able to have very real conversations with people about things and it opens their eyes and my eyes, but those are few and far between. I have had to block people from my page just to get them to shut up!! I don’t always want to have a discussion about everything I post! Sometimes I just want to share it. And if you read it, awesome. I wasn’t asking for opposing opinions, maybe I just wanted to share mine. I actually commented on a girls post kind of asking about the post and she told me that I didn’t need to comment…she just wanted to post it! I was like uhhhmmmmm unless you turn off commenting, any post on Facebook is fair game! But is that fair? Is it fair to want to post your opinion and not want any back? It sure would be nice sometimes, that’s for sure! Is it even fair of me to be posting THIS, which is one giant opinion about people sharing opinions? Who knows. Maybe you’re sitting there thinking I’m the most hypocritical person in the world cause you’ve seen me post opinions and argue and blah blah blah. And to that I direct you back to the part of this post where I say “I have probably done things the wrong way more than the right way.”

But what I have learned is that social media should NEVER be personal (unless you’re tagged…obvi). When people post these outlandish things that I completely disagree with, they didn’t post them to personally offend me or piss me off. They’re not over there thinking“I really hope Moriah sees this and it gets her going!!” They’re not even talking directly at me…so I can KEEP SCROLLING and choose not to respond. What a concept!!!!! I can actually read something, disagree, and choose to ignore it! Shocking, I know! Just like I believe not every opinion needs to be shared, I also believe that not every post needs to be commented on.

Social media is a whole other topic of evil. It breaks of up friendships, relationships, causes trust issues and drama, creates an easy avenue for disloyalty and saying what you shouldn’t behind the keys of your computer. I will most likely address all of those things at some point, but for right now I am just trying to say that social media is not always the best way to stand on your soap box. Some of us don’t care to be a part of the constant negativity of this world. There are some days I just avoid all social media because it’s FILLED with people arguing and hating each other. The world is depressing. There are sad things happening out there all the time in all parts of the world. Maybe you think I’m insensitive or ignorant for not wanting to be a part of every movement or cause…and that’s ok. This whole NFL debate means nothing to me in a sense that I’m not going to waste a single second talking about my point of view on it on social media because half of you only care about it because it’s a trending issue. So many “super-patriots” coming out of the woodwork. People who don’t even watch football commenting on things acting like they know all about it. Like why? Why do you feel the need to be a part of something. Just live your life, be a decent human being and stand for what you believe in without having to post about it every single chance you get. It’s ok to have face to face conversations about current issues. It’s ok to not take part in political or social issues on Facebook. It doesn’t mean you don’t care about the world if you’re not tweeting about it. Stop stirring the pot. Stop over sharing. Stop keeping things going that aren’t going anywhere. Stop posting articles from non-reputable sources. Try sharing happiness and love and accomplishments and positivity. Try finding something you can post to build each other up instead of dividing people. Try looking through a different lens and open your eyes and hearts to other people and their feelings. If we all focused as much on lifting people up as we did debating things we can’t change, the world would be a completely different place. Just think about it…

Xoxo,
Mo

Leave a Reply

